RSS

The man behind the new Breucklen Gin

15 Aug

From the Village Voice’s “Behind the Bar” blog:

Brad Estabrooke of Breuckelen Distilling talks gin, Brooklyn, and why boozehounds are more fun than oenophiles.

Estabrooke (right) isn’t the first high-roller to leave the world of finance to launch his own liquor brand. But he is one of the few who is doing the distillation himself. He launched his long-awaited Breuckelen Gin a couple weeks ago.

Q: So, why gin?

A: About 2½ years ago, I was frustrated with my job. I came up with this theory that [what was missing] was doing some type of a craft. … I was a bond trader, so I guess I was making money for people whose money I was trading around, but at the end of the day, there wasn’t some tangible thing I could be taking home or sharing with people, and have them say, “Wow. This is fantastic. What a neat thing you made.”

[Go here for the full interview.]

Check out my New York Drinks Events Calendar, the most comprehensive you’ll find anywhere.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 15, 2010 in Gin, NYC

 

Leave a comment